When your activity is finished, you are ready to choose the options available in the 'Publishing' menu. Make sure your activity is saved and placed in an appropriate folder. Then click 'Publish' on the toolbar menu.
1. Setting grades
The first publishing option is to choose how your activity should be scored. It can show a percentage score or have grade boundaries set following either the A*-G or the 9-1 grade scale. If you select one of the grade scales, you can then set the grade boundaries for your activity. Choose the number of grades you would like to be available by ticking or unticking the check boxes in the table.
Top tip: If your activity is aimed at lower-ability students, you may wish to cap your activity at a C or a 5 so that this is the top mark available.
The names of the grades are editable. If you prefer, you can rename the grades with another value, e.g. 'Excellent', 'Try again' or any other system that is used in your school.
Next, use the slider to set the grade boundaries. Drag your grades into position to show what percentage score should represent each grade boundary.
2. Set countdown timer
Within the publishing menu, you also have the option to set a timer for your activity. This is particularly useful for exam-style activities. If you would like to do this, tick the box and enter the number of minutes allocated for your activity.
A countdown clock will then appear on the left-hand side of the activity when the student is completing it.
3. Save for future editing
The remaining controls at the bottom of the publishing box give you two options: to save your activity for future editing or to go ahead and publish.
If you save for future editing, the activity will remain unpublished. It will be greyed out in your menu and will only be visible to you. You will be able to return and edit it, but will not be able to use it with your students or set it as homework.
There are two publishing options available. The default option is to publish the activity to Share. This means the activity will be available to all SAM Learning teachers to use. However, it will not be visible to students in other schools until it is selected and approved by one of their teachers. Please see the articles on Share for further information on how teachers can 'pin' Share activities for use in their school.
The other option is to publish the activity just in your own school. This means the activity will be available to all students and teachers in your school, but not to anyone else.
Once the activity is published, you will not be able to make any further edits to the activity and it will be available to set as homework. If you do wish to make changes to your activity in the future, you must copy and edit it. This is because the original activity may have been set as homework by someone else, so that version cannot be changed. You can delete it, but if it is in use then it will continue to be available to those students until the homework is complete.